Band on the Run: The Start Line

The Marine Corps Marathon organizers are taking votes to select the song that will kick-off the 2009 race:

Whether it provides inspiration, motivation or just makes you want to get moving, nominate your favorite running song and it could be chosen to start the 2009 MCM.   The top five most nominated songs will be compiled and you will be able to vote for your selection [at the] beginning of September.

 

My iPod is always on shuffle, so when the perfect start up song serendipitously plays as I ready-set-go I start with an extra spring in my step.  I’m not sure which song will win the MCM contest (my money is on Eye of the Tiger), but I present to you 10 deserving ditties to start your next run or race on the right foot. 

If you have any additional suggestions please post them below.  I’m always looking to jazz up my own list.

 

Here I Go Again On My Own – Whitesnake.  Although I train with two run clubs my weekly long runs are usually solo endeavours.  At least once a month this song is the first to play on my iPod.  It’s spooky ’cause it’s true.  Here I go again on my own, going down the only road I’ve ever known. 

Start Me Up – Rolling Stones.  If you start me up I’ll never stop, I’ve been running hot.  The Stones are 310 years old (combined) and cranking out tour after tour; they must be doing something right.  Start me up.

Wanna Be Startin’ Somethin’ – Michael JacksonThis song is so good it has been featured in two of my playlists.  The King of Pop has a way with words.  Remember, the pain is thunder.

Get The Party Started – Pink.  I can go for miles if you know what I mean.  I really don’t know what she means, but I like the line anyway.  Given the surrounding lines I assume she means driving, but why would driving require a “know what I mean”?  To me the “know what I mean” implies she means something other than the obvious – a pop star double entendre – and I don’t know what she really really means.  Of course it was years before I knew what She Bop really meant, so I have a history of naïveté in these matters.

Here It Goes Again – Ok Go.  The treadmill song!  Best video of 2006!  Worthy of multiple exclamation marks!!  It starts out easy, something simple, something sleazy, something inching past the edge of the reserve.  Okay … go!

A Little Less Conversation – Elvis.  This song kicked off the Las Vegas Marathon in 2007 and immediately focused my brain on the task at hand.  A little less conversation a little more action baby.  And yes, I know what this one really means.

I Gotta Feeling – Black Eyed Peas.  Just substitute tonight for today and voila, today’s gonna by a good day.  Today’s gonna be a good good day.  Without substitution, this one works especially well for night races.  As I’m neither hip nor with it, I only recently added gem to my playlist.

Beautiful Day – U2.  Sometimes bad days are still beautiful days.  You’re on the road, but you’ve got no destination.  It’s a beautiful day.  Don’t let it get away.

You Ain’t Seen Nothin’ Yet – Bachman-Turner Overdrive.   She looked at me with big brown eyes and said … you ain’t seen nothin’ yet.  

Don’t Stop Believin’ – Journey.  For reasons I can’t explain, rock power ballads connect with my runner’s soul.  This one in particular sings to me.  Just a small town girl, livin’ in a lonely world.  My world isn’t lonely, but I am (or was) a small town girl taking the midnight train going anywhere.  Some will win, some will lose, some were born to sing the blues.  Oh the movie never ends, it goes on and on and on and on.  When my run goes on and on and on and on it really helps if I don’t stop believin’.  Yes, I hold on to the feelin’.  It works, I swear.

4 responses to “Band on the Run: The Start Line

  1. A DJ friend of mine made this amazing mix and it takes everything within me to stop from turning the trail into a karaoke stage. Not to mention that the Beyonce moves for Single Ladies do NOT work well on the run.
    …probably best that I stick with audiobooks 😉

    • I’m not sure audiobooks provide the loud pulsing distraction needed to drown out the sound of the strompers that seems to follow me on my long runs. Otherwise I love the idea.

  2. Running up that Hill – the dance version by Elastic Band

    You Can Do It – Ice Cube: I don’t really think he’s rapping about running but it does include the lyrics “treated like a athlete. Life ain’t a track meet (no) it’s a marathon”

    Unstoppable – Kat Deluna feat. Lil’ Wayne. Great song.

    Hung Up – Madonna: “Those who run seem to have all the fun. I’m caught up. I don’t know what to do.”

    Every Little Step I take – Bobby Brown

    One Step at a Time – Jordin Sparks

    Step by Step – NKOTB

    Keep Pushin – Boris Dlugosh: One of my favourite dance songs from grade 10! This whole song could be about running “keep pushin on; things are going to get better; it won’t take long; keep-on pushin to the top…keep on pushin and you’ll win”

    Don’t Stop – Madonna (from Bedtime Stories): “Don’t stop, keep movin’, keep groovin’”

    Stronger – Britney

    Me Against the Music – Britney and Madonna. Even though it’s about a dance-off against the music Britney keeps repeating “I wanna get in the zone, I wanna get in the zone”…it could be translated into running

    Run It – Chris Brown: I don’t have this on my playlist anymore but it used to be in my running mix

    Jump- Madonna: “I’m going down my road and I can make it alone. I’ll work and I’ll fight till I find a place of my own…are you ready to jump”

    Wind it Up – Gwen Stefani

    Push – Prince and the NPG: I love Prince so I had to get one of his songs on my running playlist. I like to think the chorus is about running “Push (I push) don’t U let them pull U down. Yeah, push (I push) until U get 2 higher ground. Hey, push – U’re never 2 young, U’re never 2 old. Yeah push – don’t stop until U go”

    Great post! I’m always interested in what others run/workout to.

    • Thanks for the song suggestions! I’m downloading some tonight for a test drive on my long run this weekend. I love it when a new song plays during a run – gives me a little extra pep in my step.

Leave a comment