August die she must

Welcome back, September. It has been a long and torturous summer.

Sure there were highlights. Lots of highlights.

In August I went here:

With him:

And did stuff like this:

and this:

and this:

and this:

and more, but this already more pictures than I posted in the 3 years I’ve been blogging.

During one of those thises I got this:

Bite count >100

Which turned into this (a bacterial infection requiring three prescriptions, more than I’ve needed in the last 5 years):

Infected bite count >50

Which turned into this:

I have no photo for “Probable West Nile”.

I didn’t die of mosquito disease, but I have been asleep every non-working hour for the past three weeks.

Title: Simon & Garfunkel – April Come She Will. 1966.

17 responses to “August die she must

  1. That is awful! (the bites, obviously – not the trip itself). Though not a debilitating as your 100+ bite, my “little” SUP-accident turned into quite the injury and is still healing as we speak…type. An x-ray confirmed that I didn’t break anything, but the time I had to take off certainly made me feel like breaking something (other than my spirit). Boo to summer, interrupted.

    Hope you’re doing much better now!

    • Whoa, that sucks. Summer, interuptus all over the place. I had a 4 hour “nap” today, so my body is still mending but improving. I hope you heal soon! I blame the instructor; I think she threw you off your A game.

  2. Gawd, though, if you are going to get bitten to shit it might as well be in the most gorgeous place in the world. (Which I’m convinced is MT/WY/CO/etc….although I haven’t visited the Himalaya/Karakoram…yet.)

    I’m always pissed when I get eaten alive like, here in Georgia or in, like, Indiana because…seriously? Ugh.

    • Exactly. Small price for the opportunity to return to one of my favourite places in Canada. Lucky for me the worst of the symptoms didn’t kick in until I was home, so I was itchy, but not west niley, in the mountains. Also lucky for me a friend recently suffered a similar attack and scared me to a doctor pronto, so I was diagnosed early and I should have no scarring. So many silver linings!

    • YOU SHUT UP ABOUT INDIANA. Kidding, kidding. She makes a valid observation. I feel cheated that I got bit all to shit on my back porch drinking wine instead of doing something useful with my life or in the very least, drinking wine somewhere prettier where the grass isn’t sodden with goose shit and the redneck neighbors aren’t still shooting off fireworks a month and a half after July 4. (actually happened)

  3. Beautiful scenic pics. Don’t care much for the bites of course. Wow..can’t say I’ve seen more on a leg. They like you way too much. Recovery well.

  4. West Nile?!! For real? Yikes. Take care of yourself.

    • I know, crazy hey? Apparently the fever or non-neurological version is common, but most healthy adults have no symptoms and so are never diagnosed. Those of us with immuni-suppression, say from a bacterial infection, can get sick. It should entirely run it’s course in 4-6 weeks. 3 more to go…

  5. YIKES! Very scary…I had a seriously allergy to the mosquito bites I had in Thailand. It was like hives on speed.
    Take care!

  6. Ouch! Couldn’t agree more about the end of summer. It needs to go away FOR GOOD, and not keep teasing me with cooler temps and then an immediate return to torture (and mosquitoes).

  7. Sorry to hear about the West Nile & bites, but welcome back! I missed your shorts while you were off gallivanting and recovering.

  8. Pingback: Coming down the mountain | My Running Shorts

Leave a Reply

