Everyone says I’m looking great but it’s hard to stand up

Once a month I get together with a group of friends to try a new fitness activity. Mostly it’s an excuse to hang out and do something other than eat, drink, or run. Although sometimes we do that before or after. More so the eat or drink part. Last month our new activity was slacklining.

Slacklining, according to Wikipedia, is a practice in balance that typically uses nylon webbing  tensioned between two anchor points. Slacklining is distinct from tightrope walking in that the line is not held rigidly taut (although it is still under some tension); it is instead dynamic, stretching and bouncing like a long and narrow trampoline. The dynamic nature of the line allows for impressive tricks and stunts.

According to our instructor, it takes the average beginner 3 hours of slacklining to be able to walk the rope end to end. After one hour I could walk about 2/3 of the line and stick out my leg in a half starfish position. Obviously I’m a savant. Except for the impressive tricks and stunts part.

Not a natural. My arms are supposed to be in the stick ’em up position, not one up one down, and I’m sticking my butt out to balance rather than using my weakling core (judgemental Netflix suggested I watch Blue Water High and one of the surfer girls had the same butt stickout-y problem, so I’m in fake-for-TV elite company). [Photo credit to Monthly Outing Club Mate at Fueling for Fitness.]

I’d do it again. I’m not ready to tie a slackline in my condo and walk on it carrying breakfast like some of my instructor’s buddies, but I think it would be fun addition to the kind of summer get together that involves frisbees and the tossing of various shaped balls.

Title: Barenaked Ladies – Get in Line. 1999.

8 responses to “Everyone says I’m looking great but it’s hard to stand up

  1. A few weeks ago, two people tied one of those lines to two trees across the street from my house. Since I work from home, I watched them for awhile while working. Thanks to you, I now know what they were doing. I thought maybe they were training for Cirque du Soleil or something…

  2. Love this idea…except for all the falling I would do…and ensuing laughter…

  3. Love this! I haven’t tried slacklining for years – last time I did it I sprung off and faceplanted. Very cool. You are tempting me to try it again!

    • You must have been at the forefront of recreational slacklining – I’ve really only noticed it in local parks the last couple of years. It might be time for a return – minus the facial injuries.

  4. chasingthekenyans

    I think I might have to attempt this. Now to find two trees a reasonable distance apart…

    • It’s like the trees in our local parks were planted 50 years ago with slack lining in mind. If only my building’s landscaper was as thoughtful, I wouldn’t have to travel as far.

Leave a Reply

