There’s lots of room for you on the bandwagon

According to M-W, a trend (noun) is:

1: a line of general direction or movement
2a: a prevailing tendency or inclination : drift
2b: a general movement : swing
2c: a current style or preference : vogue
2d: a line of development : approach
3: the general movement over time of a statistically detectable change; also: a statistical curve reflecting such a change

And a fad (noun) is:

: a practice or interest followed for a time with exaggerated zeal

Trend or fad? This summer, within a 2 hour drive of my location there are at least 8* of those obstacle-mud run races.

  1. Urban Warrior Run – May
  2. Mud Run – June
  3. Spartan Race – June
  4. Met Con – June 
  5. Warrior Dash – July
  6. Tough Mudder – August
  7. Mud Hero – August 
  8. Mudnewton – August

Many are new for 2012. Some were new in 2011. I ran one of the inaugural races. I haven’t actually done the math, but this type of race growth may be exponential. I think that means we can expect [insert big unknown #] mud runs in 2013. I’m just making this math stuff up to sound smart. If I tried to remember how to calculate exponential growth my brain would explode.

*These are just the ones I know about – and I’m not in the know.  If you are in the know let me know which races to add.

Title: REM – Bandwagon. 1985.

Leave a Reply

