Atanarjuat, The Fast Runner

This weekend I kicked off my Movie Motivation Month, for no reason other than I like alliterations.  Atanarjuat, The Fast Runner was the feature presentation.  It is a 2001 Canadian film written, directed, and acted entirely in Inuktitut.  The film retells an Inuit legend in which Atanarjuat wins the hand of Atuat away from the son of the camp leader, Oki, who vows to get even. Atanarjuat  SPOILER ALERT  escapes the wrath of Oki by running naked over the spring sea ice.

I watched the film for about ten minutes before wandering away bored.  I wondered back for ten minutes during the naked running scene.  SPOILER ALERT  Naked is not a synonym for barefoot (although he was) but means full nudity, with lots of money shots.  It doesn’t look as painful as I imagine running bra-less to feel, but there was certainly some wasted movement.  At one point the man fell in some water then he stopped to wash his face.  During a race for his life.  With the bad guys right behind him.  Sure they were laden in heavy arctic gear and moving a bit slowly, but they were within weapon range.  This is the time to worry about salty skin. 

I lump Atanarjuat in with other movies I’m supposed to appreciate because they are “epic” or thought-provoking, but really I just want to watch Run Fatboy Run.  Again.  A slow-moving three hour movie in another language is a test of my concentration.   A test I usually fail.  I prefer TV shows that wrap up a plot in a neat 20-40 minute (no commercials with streaming) package.  I’m not prepared to spend more time motivating myself than I will spend in motion during my next long run.  The Rotton Tomatoes Tomatometer rates this movie at 90%, so it’s probably a good movie that is wasted on me.

Title: It’s not a song. It’s the name of the movie.

5 responses to “Atanarjuat, The Fast Runner

  1. Another to check out is On The Edge starring Bruce Dern as a drifter training for the Dipsea Race.

    My favourite trail running movie is Apocalypto. Far less penis exposure than Atanarjuat. (I said less, not none.)

  2. Thanks for the recs. The Robber was out so we just rented Apocalypto. Yes, rented.

  3. Little cold out there, Atanarjuat? #tooeasy

  4. An effective training plan focuses on both skill and energy. Skill comes from proper form and efficiency training. Energy development comes from balancing out speed, strength, stamina, and threshold workouts.

    Here are some good stamina, threshold, strength, and speed workouts. Readers who do not know their specific training paces, this tool will help you.

    Personalized Workout Calculator >>>> http://www.freerunningcalculator.com

    Courtesy of Running Coach
    Ken at 5 Speed Running

Leave a Reply

