I’d buy you a green dress (but not a real green dress that’s cruel)

Running is supposed to be a cheap sport.  It can be.  A couple of pairs of running shoes a year, free roads and trails, and away you go.  Some even argue that real runners head out in 1980s trainers, a cheap white undershirt, high school gym shorts,  and cotton socks from a dollar store 12-pack.  I am not one of those runners. 

As Cheaper than Therapy or Go, Tracy, Go (I can’t remember and I can’t find the post … ok, I didn’t even look) once wrote, many runners are draped in upwards of $1000 worth of unnecessary extras they deem to be essentials.  I am not one of those runners either.  

I’m somewhere in between the Wal-Mart tube-socks and running shoes trimmed in diamonds.  Truthfully, somewhere closer to the diamonds than the tube socks.

I do not dare add up the total amount we spend on race entries (and associated travel costs) each year.  I own gadgets and gizmos that count my heart beats, track my pace and mileage, and play me songs.  I wear fancy high-tech clothes that wick away my sweat.  I buy over-priced race memorabilia.  My home library is filled with running books.  I eat costly prepackaged “food” on the run instead of bulk bin raisins.  I even made a wish list to aid folks who feel inclined to buy me stuff

What can I say.  I have no kids or so-called fur-baby substitutes to drain my bank account, so I dispose of my income on superfluous extras like running accessories and Cirque du Soleil tickets instead of organic baby food and dog costumes.  I don’t need these things, I like them.

For the big spenders, my

Top 5 List of Expensive Running Wants Not Needs:

1. GPS.

I’m in a love-hate relationship with Garmin 405, the 4th.  Before I went high tech I used a classic Timex Ironman.  I still use that old Timex in races.  I love the Garmin for training, mostly because I’m really lazy and it autodownloads a record of my workout into a handy log and all I need to do is sit near my computer.   Price: $200-400.

2. The 100% reflective Nike Vapor Jacket.

Because it is seriously amazing and will save my life in a city that ranks cars>bikes>runners.  Price: $400.

3. Oakley Sunglasses.

My lackadaisical approach to eye wear has left me worse for wear.  These are the only sunglasses I have ever worn that I don’t want to toss in a bush after 5K.  Price: $225.

4. A race entry.

Plus travel, food, and accommodations, as required.  Price: $100 for an average marathon (more for New York, Boston and anything promising bands every mile).  Don’t add up the other race costs or you may never race again.

5. A Running Coach

Sometimes you need more than a book and an internet connection.  Price: Depends on the coach.  Priceless if you PB?

Title: Barenaked Ladies – If I Had a Million Dollars. 1993.

8 responses to “I’d buy you a green dress (but not a real green dress that’s cruel)

  1. I ❤ my Garmin too. Because sometimes (rarely, okay, never) I'm running too fast and my Garmin reminds me to slow it down. Also I just broke my charger and they want 36 bucks for a new one. Highway robbery, I tell you.

  2. yeah I thought too when I started running, this is an inexpensive sport….not so much! Great entry.

  3. Luckily, some of the more expensive gear I own was a gift. I also still use an ex’s iPod Shuffle. He hasn’t asked for it yet.

Leave a Reply

