I love my calendar girl

I’m not a year-end review kind of person.  And honestly, I’m a little relieved to wave farewell to 2010.  The year that time will forget.  Even if I need to drink a lot to make that happen.  Erm, I mean, the stats helper monkeys at WordPress.com helpfully mulled over how this blog did in 2010, and here’s a summary of its overall blog health.  They concluded “wow”, which seems a bit exaggerated.  I’m a skeptical geek who wants to know the label and numbers that go into each Blog-o-Meter rating.

Some bloggers post daily about the miles they run and the food they eat and get 843 comments per post.  I post a few times a week about nothing and although my commentors are witty and intelligent, I don’t draw in a huge number of participators – the classic measure of blog success.  I’m certainly not a “wow” by conventional standards.  But I’ll take it.

  Healthy blog!

The Blog-Health-o-Meter™ reads Wow.

Crunchy numbers

Featured image

About 3 million people visit the Taj Mahal every year. This blog was viewed about 44,000 times in 2010. If it were the Taj Mahal, it would take about 5 days for that many people to see it.

In 2010, there were 155 new posts, growing the total archive of this blog to 362 posts. There were 73 pictures uploaded. That’s about a picture per week.

The busiest day of the year was August 29th with 303 views. The most popular post that day was If you’re gonna play the game, you gotta learn to play it right.

Where did they come from?

The top referring sites in 2010 were facebook.com, Google Reader, google.ca, mail.live.com, and WordPress Dashboard.

Some visitors came searching, mostly for myrunshorts, my running shorts, how far is a marathon, my running shorts blog, and my run shorts.

Attractions in 2010

These are the posts and pages that got the most views in 2010.

1

If you’re gonna play the game, you gotta learn to play it right August 2010

2

About The Runner March 2009

3

About My Running Shorts March 2009

4

Oh, the places you’ll go … running. November 2009

5

Here’s how you run a marathon March 2009

 

Title: Neil Sedaka – Calendar Girl. 1961.

8 responses to “I love my calendar girl

  1. Woow, 4 of the top 5 are form 2009?

    I credit Google 🙂

    • I know! what have been writing about for the last year? WordPress helpfully pointed this out and suggested that I should write about those 2009 topics more often. I say never underestimate the number of Neil Patrick Harris and Dr. Seuss fans.

  2. So of all the great stuff you write, a “giveaway” post got the most views and comments? Lollerskates, that kills me! Bleh, it’s all about what ya value I guess. (Maybe I’m alone here, but I’d have no fun trying to make a living off of posting 3x a day, constantly broadcasting my life, pimping myself with constant and endless giveaways, and salivating for page clicks and boring-ass “those oats look so good :)” comments.)

  3. A blog about nothing, well I beg to differ…but nothing is cool! Seinfeld anyone?

  4. Still trying to figure how far a marathon is. Guess I’ll just have to keep reading until you explain.

    • You and hundreds of googlers annually. There is a shocking lack of information available. You would think those 24 hour a day news stations would do their part, but all their time is taken up calling snowflakes snowstorms. So I do my best to pick up the slack. You’ve made a wise choice to continue reading.

Leave a Reply

