Falling for the first time

127 HOURS is the true story of mountain climber Aron Ralston’s (James Franco) remarkable adventure to save himself after a fallen boulder crashes on his arm and traps him in an isolated canyon in Utah.  Over the next five days Ralston examines his life and survives the elements to finally discover he has the courage and the wherewithal to extricate himself by any means necessary, scale a 65 foot wall and hike over eight miles before he is finally rescued.

A true and inspiring, albeit rather horrifying, story.  I’ve read a few articles on this guy, so I went in knowing the ending, and I was still on the edge of my seat.  It’s not about running, but mountain climbing is at least a third cousin, once removed.  Hiking is definitely a step-sibling.  So close enough.

I hate to under-estimate myself, but I’m reasonably certain I do NOT have the courage and wherewithal to extricate myself by any means necessary, scale a 65 foot (19.8 metres) wall and hike over eight miles (12.9 kilometres) to rescue.  I would have perished in that canyon.  Maybe I should reconsider my anti-cell phone stance.  And my spelunking hobby.  Secretly I’m convinced my Garmin is Miles IV is a Transformer (an Autobot, of course) and would reveal his alter-identity and save me before …. SPOILER ALERT …. amputation becomes my only option.  And by only I mean not an option at all. 

Also, watching this movie counts as training under the rules of my Two Runs a Week Five-Week Marathon Training Program.  It falls in the 90% of the marathon is mental category.  Mental fortitude doesn’t get much stronger than sawing of your own damn arm. 

Title: Barenaked Ladies – Falling for the First Time.  2000.

4 responses to “Falling for the first time

  1. addicted2cappuccino

    Your new training rules are amusing.

  2. Can’t wait to see it. I remember seeing Ralston on GMA and bawling. Glad they did him justice.

  3. I think I would not have the strength to dismember myself. He must be an amazing fellow.

  4. Dear lord, I can’t even imagine doing what he did in that scenario. I’m excited to see the movie but I will probably cry or something embarrassing.

Leave a Reply

