Band on the Run: City Streets

This weekend Summer will strike my fair city my city.  Something about heat alerts, stay inside, don’t move unnecessarily.   I will disobey TV and run.  Even though hot runs leave me feeling nauseated and worrisomely red in the face.  I am troubled that this is a sign of things to come.  Bad things.   Hot things.  It’s still June.  Last summer was fantastic.  For runners.  We had eight months of spring.  I ran at 10 am in August.   Of the four million residents I think I ranked number one on the happiness list.  This spring it has rained fire and brimstone and it’s still spring.  My will to run melts with the weakest of sun rays.  It’s summer.  It’s a concrete jungle.  It’s overheated.  I better learn to like it.  Or tolerate it.  No one wants to listen to me complain about the heat for the next four months.  And by no one I mean Husband.  I need to remember why I love the city. 

Lovin’ Spoonful – Summer in the City.  This song may be my summer anthem.  All around, people looking half dead, walking on the sidewalk, hotter than a match head.   I kind of want to cry.  What kind of car to I need to buy to kickstart Global Cooling?

Guns N’ Roses – Paradise CityThe surgeon general says it’s hazardous to breathe.  I’m petitioning for traffic free Sundays.  Can I count on your signature?

We Built This City – StarshipIt’s just another Sunday in a tired old street.  During my Sunday long runs I often feel like the street is new and I’m tired and old.  Good thing they built this city on rock and roll

Boulevard of Broken Dreams – Green Day.  I walk a lonely road, the only one that I have ever known.  Don’t know where it goes, but it’s home to me and I walk alone.  I run alone, I run alone. 

Downtown – Petula Clark.  This playlist is more depressing than intended.  Time to bring out Petula.  Just listen to the music of the traffic in the city.  Linger on the sidewalk where the neon lights are pretty.   That’s better.

The Sunny Side of the Street – The Pogues.  There’s always a sunny side.  I prefer to run in the shade but I try to keep my attitude on the sunny side of the street

Funky Town – Lipps IncA Town to keep me movin’, keep me groovin’ with some energy.  Won’t you take me to Funkeytown.

Electric Avenue – Eddy GrantWe gonna rock down to Electric Avenue.  I think it’s on the bad side of town, so maybe I’ll just rock out to Electric Avenue.

Hot in the City – Billy IdolI’m a-walkin ’til my brain pops.  Hot in the city.  My brain, by the way, pops at 30C.

Where the Streets Have No Name – U2I want to run.  I grew up in a village so small the streets had names but no street signs.  I think people stole them.  

King of Spain – Moxy Fruvos.  Ode to my city.  Once I was the king of Spain and now I vacuum the turf at the Skydome.  Now some of you are probably wondering how I came to be living in Canada after being royalty in Spain.   Should I tell them, guys?   Tell us, King.  I guess you need to listen to the song to find out why.

4 responses to “Band on the Run: City Streets

  1. Great list! I admit I was disappointed Bob Marley’s Concrete Jungle didn’t make the cut…but, talk about depressing right? I love the Pogues!

  2. Fun fact: I live about a mile from the club where Fruvous did their last concert. Well, last three. Not so fun fact? I gave up a chance to go to the show because I had a paper due. Yeah.

    And I hear you. A lot.

Leave a Reply

