Band on the Run: Rained Out

As the saying goes, if you can’t beat ’em join ’em.  I love running in the rain but I realize that I am in the minority.   I like racing in the rain but I realize I am probably crazy. 

With April showers an almost guarantee, running in the rain is a training necessity.  Some people may need an extra push to get out the door when the raindrops are falling and the puddles are deepening.  Song writers aren’t much help, with most rainy tunes falling in the slow depressing ballad genre.  Unrequited love.  Love lost.  Tragedy.  Musically, rain and dark times are interwoven.  I’ve sifted through the dreary rainy day songs for you to extract my top selections for your running playlist.   Hopefully these waterlogged lyrics will put a spring in your soggy step.

Please add your rainy day song picks in the comment section below

Singing in the Rain – Cliff Edwards.  An obvious first choice, rain songs don’t get much perkier than this one.  Let the stormy clouds chase everyone from the place.  Come on with the rain.  I’ve a smile on my face.  I walk down the lane with a happy refrain just singin’, singin’ in the rain.  If this song doesn’t chase away your rain clouds … there’s something wrong with you.

Umbrella – Rihanna.  The ella ella ella drives me crazy crazy crazy, but the song was popular enough to monopolize tha airwaves for several months and the beat is runable.  How’s that for an endorsement?

No Rain – Blind Melon.  I may be (okay, I am) reinterpreting the lyrics to suit my own upbeatedness (and my own youthful nostalgia for Blind Melon), but if you selectively pay attention to the two lyrics that mention the word rain it sounds positive.  I like watching the puddles gather rain.  This guys actually starts to complain when there’s no rain.  

Rainy Days and Mondays – Carpenters.  I have a strange affection for The Carpenters.  I even own a tribute album CD.  The song is a little melancholy, but we can all relate to a little melancholy.  You may be down but the run goes on.

Let it Rain – OK Go.   Let it rain, let it pour.  Hallelujah, hallelujah.  A tribute to rain from the group who brought us the treadmill dance.

Lightening Crashes – LiveLike a rollin thunder chasing the wind.  It starts out slow then the power and urgency builds along with your pace.  I was young when this song came out and I didn’t appreciate (or even notice) the life/death juxtaposition.  I was always hopeless with poetry.  This song will give you something to think about on that long rainy run. 

Who’ll Stop the Rain – CCRLong as I remember the rain been coming downTell me, who’ll stop the rain.  Here’s a tip: the faster you run, the faster you finish.

It’s Raining Men – The Weather GirlsHumidity is rising – Barometer’s getting low.  According to all sources, the street’s the place to go!  The weather girls are wise.  When it rains, hit the streets. 

Rainy Day People – Gordon LightfootThe best kind of people are rainy day people.  Remember that next time you’re running in a rainstorm with your running mates.

Here Comes the Rain Again – Eurythmics.  Annie Lennox knows good training.  I want to walk in the open wind.  Every raindrop makes you stronger.

Blame it on the Rain – Milli VanilliGotta blame it on something.  Blame it on the rain.  A bad run in the rain has a built-in excuse clause.  Lip-syncing, on the other hand, has no excuse.

Fool in the Rain – Led Zepplin.  A surprisingly light song from this heavy band.  And I’ll run in th rain ’til I’m breathless, when I’m breathless I’ll run ’til I drop, hey!  This line is in the running for best running in the rain lyric.

Rain – The Beatles.  Short and sweet: Rain, I don’t mind.  Mind over matter.

It’s Raining Again – SupertrampOh no it’s raining again.  Why not mix a little positive into the negative?  C’mon you little fighter and get back up again.  That’s better.

Heading for the Light – Traveling Wilburys.  Hands down the best supergroup ever formed.  And when the rain came down I was nearly drowned I didn’t know the mess I was in.  My shoes are wearing out from walking down this same highway

Raindrops Keep Falling on my Head – BJ Thomas from Butch Cassidy and the Sundance KidI’m never gonna stop the rain by complaining.  It wouldn’t work anyway.

9 responses to “Band on the Run: Rained Out

  1. Great Header Picture

  2. OK, it’s not a running song but it’s one of the most hauntingly beautiful songs ever written: I Think It’s Going to Rain Today” by Randy Newman. (he also penned “Rider in the Rain,” featuring the guys from The Eagles joining in on the chorus.)

    One other that I actually sing in my head a lot when I’m running and the black clouds are approaching: See The Sky About to Rain by Canadian Neil Young, who resents being left off the list by a fellow countrywoman.

    • Ohh, Randy Newman, excellent song. Like See the Sky About to Rain, it was bumped for reasons of slowness and melancholy-ness.

      I’m contractually obligated to include Canadian content in each playlist, but this time I didn’t need Neil.

  3. Come Clean – Hilary Duff “Let the rain fall down…” also the theme song to Laguna Beach! Cheesy but catchy.

    Rain – Madonna. Slowish but totally runable if you turn it up loud.

    • At first I thought you were telling me to come clean, as in admit it, you listen to Hilary Duff and watch Laguana Beach. And I did, at least the latter. I left when Lauren left. And I think that song is on my running playlist. Madonna’s Rain is too slow for me but the volume is a good tip.

  4. Dang. “I’m only happy when it rains” by Garbage and “Let it Rain” by Eric Clapton. And here I am too late to win the fabulous door prize.

  5. AWESOME. As usual you are five steps ahead of me. “Umbrella” and “Blame in on the Rain” are actually also on my rainlist too — Good calls. “Rainy Day” by Coldplay, too, is strangely a great one to workout to. I still consider When the Levee Breaks to be my crappy weather anthem though. I secretly feel like a badass when I’m listening to it while in the rain…

Leave a Reply

