She’s a maniac, maniac on the floor

I am officially a Marathon Maniac.   Husband is now a maniac twice over.  Double the madness.   Actually, it’s not official unless I officially join.  I now qualify to become a Marathon Maniac, albeit the lowest calibre of maniac.  The Marathon Maniacs are, quite simply, people who run a heck of a lot of marathons.  They also pay an annual membership fee ($35 initial membership cost, $10 annual renewal, $58 for the singlet featuring the crazy-eyed runner).

Marathon Maniacs are classified according to their degree of insanity, from a little loopy to certifiably insane.  To wit,
#1. BRONZE LEVEL (translation, a little loopy):
1.   Back to Back Marathons* (two marathons in consecutive weekends, races can be run on either Saturday or Sunday).
2.  Two Marathons in 3 weeks.
3.  Three Marathons in 3 months.

Note:  Husband has met the bronze criteria 1 and 2 and he attests that 1 is immeasurably harder than 2.

… (Click to view the levels in between.  Stop complaining, I can’t do all the work.)

#9. TITANIUM LEVEL (translation, certifiably insane):
1.  52 Marathons or more in one calendar year.
2.  30 Marathons in 30 US States, Countries, or Canadian Provinces (any combination) in 1 calendar year.
3.  20 Countries in one calendar year.

Note: I will NEVER become a titanium maniac.  Never.

*My double-header (Marine Corps Marathon October 25 and New York City Marathon November 1) meet criteria 1 under the bronze level.   I am only a little loopy.  Time difference between 1 and 2 = 14 minutes.  14 long, my god what happened to my hamstrings and why is 5th avenue uphill, minutes.  Both were BQs, which was my secret goal.  Still, I won’t do this again (at least not anytime soon).  Turns out I’m saner than suspected.

Title Reference: Michael Sembello – Maniac.  From the album Bossa Nova Hotel and Flashdance Soundtrack.  1983.

11 responses to “She’s a maniac, maniac on the floor

  1. Welcome to the club. I agree with the immeasurabilty comment.

    Today’s marathon got me gold status. 3 in 3. I enjoyed the challenge. I am also enjoying the Shiraz tonight. Is there a club for that?

    Congrats on you back to back and dual BQs. Very impressive. Come run Chilly Willy with us!

    • Woot woot to gold! I don’t know how you did it, but it is always reassuring to know that no matter how insane I feel there is always someone crazier;).

      Not sure about chilly willy – I do like the name, but I may go on race hiatus until Boston.

  2. Congrats! Yes, I realized after the fact that I have to PAY to join. Doh, why don’t we start our own little group that’s free.

    I can’t believe you BQed in both races. There’s no way I could have done it. Hope to read about the actual marathon, I can’t wait to do it next year. The race on TV was amazing to watch.

    • I’m not even sure what the membership fee offers, except maybe verification of lunacy. I totally think we should start a local chapter that’s free.

      Race report coming soon, once I catch up on my sleep. Zzzzzzzz.

  3. YOU (AND HUSBAND) ARE AMAZING!!!

    • I saw that in the Monday New York Times … love it! I also love that the Times has an entire marathon section in the Monday paper. I think I bought the last copy at the Newark airport.

Leave a Reply

