Listen to the music of the traffic in the city

Yesterday I ran the final two miles of the NYC marathon.  In 48 days I will run the entire 26.2 miles.  While running in Central Park I happened upon a road race, a bicycle race, and a Fashion Week show set-up, so this was not an entirely accurate recreation of the final 2.2 miles, as I was unwilling to risk limb or life impeding runners/riders/fashionistas from their morning tasks.  Something I couldn’t help but notice about the final two mile stretch — it is an insidiously long slow uphill slog to the finish line.  There is no “hill” of such magnitude to be Christianed a terrifying name, just some gentle rollers in Central Park following an almost imperceptible steady incline as we head south to midtown Manhattan.  I’m certain imperceptible will change to soul-sucking after 24 miles, and after the Marine Corps Marathon six days prior.

I also made a trip to 9 east 89th Street (the mysterious address of an unmarked building which I assume to be the NYCC club house) in search of some NYC Marathon gear.  All I know is that I told Husband that I wanted to check out the training shirts and Husband sent me a cryptic email saying “go to 9 east 89th street before 7pm on Friday or 5pm Saturday”.  Off I went without a second thought, two friends in tow.  I knew I was on the right track when I spotted a “Fred Lebow Place” sign below the 89th street marker.  As I entered a lovely old townhouse I stumbled upon a race kit pick-up for the aforementioned Saturday run in the park.  It was a nice opportunity to soak up the exciting pre-race atmosphere while I browsed the marathon stock.  Under threat of injury from my friend who walked the 40 blocks with me to 89th street, I made a small purchase.  I was tempted in to a big purchase, but knowing I’ll be positively wanting to throw money away at the race expo, as is my nature, I was inclined to show some restraint at the NYRR clubhouse.  I’m terrifically excited about watching my very own copy of Run for Your Life: The Fred Lebow Story:

The story of how one immigrant’s determination and sweat created the most significant running event in the world. Run for Your Life touches the heart and soul of anyone who has a passion for running, and documents the inspirational life of Fred Lebow and the history of the New York City Marathon.

I always watch an inspiring running-themed movie before a big race.  It’s a silly pre-race ritual to distract my worrisome mind from the upcoming challenge. 

Generous and thoughtful wife that I am, I also bought Husband a gift to motivate him through the last few weeks of training:

Training for NYC Marathon 2009 cap

He likes hats.  Plus it matches his skimpy Team Fox singlet.  According to the NYRRs, “you got in, and now the training is serious.  This hat will wick the moisture away from your body and look good too.”  That, I’m sure, is a guarantee.  The astute reader will notice that the website “photo” is not as becoming as advertised, but the real life version is leaps more attractive and bares only a passing resemblance to this artist’s rendering.  It is surprisingly large in size (and husband’s noggin, let me tell you, is not small), but he happily wore it on his run today and pretended not to care about the excessive puffiness.  Now that’s love.

 

Title Reference: Petula Clark – Downtown.  From the album Downtown.  1964.

2 responses to “Listen to the music of the traffic in the city

  1. Sounds like your threatening friend was thinking straight – why walk that distance, in the RAIN (!!), and not have something to show for it? Aside from the (still) wet shoes, that is….

Leave a Reply

