Chillin’, maxin’, relaxin’ all cool

I’m gonna say something that I want you to remember for the rest of your lives.  The key to life is running and reading.

I like this advice.  It’s good advice.  Running and reading.  Brilliant in its simplicity.  I may be biased because running and reading (and TV watching) are two of my favourite activities.  I’m pretty sure Will Smith endorses TV watching as well, especially little gems like The Fresh Prince of Bel-Air.

Why Running?  When you are running there’s a little person that talks to you.  And that little person says oh I’m tired.  My lungs are gonna pop.  Oh I’m so hurt.  I’m so tired.  There’s no way I can possibly continue.  And you want to quit.  Right?  If you learn how to defeat that person when you are running, you will learn how to not quit when things get hard in your life.  Running, alright, that’s the first key to life.

This is deeper than I would expect from a Kid’s Choice Award speech, but the man makes a good point. Getting through tough moments on the run is confidence building.

Why Reading?  The reason that reading is so important.  There are million and millions and millions and gazillions of people that have lived before all of us.  There is no new problem that you can have … that someone hasn’t already solved and wrote about it in a book.  So the keys to life are running and reading.

 Does that mean everything I write has been written before?

 

p.s. Credit for finding this video goes to Hai Nguyen.

 Title Reference:  Will Smith – The Fresh Prince of Bel-Air.

2 responses to “Chillin’, maxin’, relaxin’ all cool

  1. Fantastic! Great post.

Leave a Reply

