C is for cookie

My complete lack of resistence to cookies, especially ones laden with chocolate chips,  is well documented.  I know, I know, even Cookie Monster advocates that cookies are a “sometimes food” (now is sometimes!), but I am a very weak runner.  Once upon a time I endeavoured to make a healthier (make no mistake, I said “healthier” air-quotes-style, not healthy) cookie alternative to the over-processed grocery store discs designed to survive a nuclear bombing.  My plan was to eat only homemade cookies, effectively reducing my total cookie intake and my exposure to toxic ingredients best left on the shelf.  I have failed miserably, but with the start-up of another marathon training cycle I have a renewed motivation to restrict my cookie-binging to those made by hand.   To give credit where it is due,  those hands are likely to belong to Husband.

For my fellow cookie lovers, enjoy the recipe for Runner’s Cookies, a treat complete with all the macronutrients a growing runner needs: good fats (and a few bad), protein, and carbs.  It’s no LU Le Petit Ecolier extra dark European chocolate paired with an oh-so French butter biscuit, but it fills the void.

The Not-At-All Famous Runner’s Cookie

1 cup whole wheat flour
1 cup rolled oats
1 tsp baking soda
1/3 cup dark brown sugar
1 cup raisins
1/2 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips
1/2 cup nuts
1 egg
1 egg white
1/8 cup butter
1/2 cup apple sauce
1/2 cup peanut butter
1 tsp vanilla extract

Mix well and form into 24 balls of varying sizes (or be boring and make them all the same size).  Squish balls.  Make patterns with your fork.  Slap onto something that can go in the oven.  Bake at 350 for 12-14 minutes or until the smoke detector goes off.   p.s. I wrote this from memory, so if the cookies are dry or sticky or gross adjust the ingredients or add a couple more.  What do you want?  A recipe?  Oh.

 
C is for cookie.  That’s good enough for me!
  

Title Reference:  Joe Raposo (performed by Cookie Monster) – C is For Cookie.  From the album the Muffet Alphabet Album.  1971.

6 responses to “C is for cookie

  1. eaternotarunner

    Oh I have to try these they sound so good! I am working on my first half marathon so maybe these will be good fuel 🙂

  2. Yum! I will have to try these although my baking skills usually leave a lot to be desired. 🙂

  3. ah! teh key here is ingredients! cookies made with quinoa flour are a complete meal and entirely guilt-free….teach husband to make these and leave behind all regrets and ‘shoudnts’. quinoa cookies are balanced ‘health foods’ and encouraged

Leave a Reply

